Day 8 at Mobile Makers (Animation, Dynamics)

So today I got picked to show my code to the class and it was a lot of fun. I didn’t finish all the stretch goals but myself and Robert wrote some really good code and I was proud to show it off. I had a lot of complements after showing my code and one person even told me it was the best code walk through they had seen so far. The NSPredicate method seemed to really impress Don as well. Today was all about animation and during the hackwitch we made half of the game pong. It seemed like it was going to be really hard at first but after learning about the different tools at our disposal like collisions, behaviors and push etc…it really wasn’t that difficult. Xcode figures out most of the hard stuff behind the scenes, we just have to put the pieces together to make it work.

We had an assessment today and I knew the material really well, I just got hung up on one problem that I spent the entire hour of the assessment trying to figure out. I made a new custom class and in that class had a custom initializer method. In the .m of the custom NSObject class I was declaring the parameters of the method.

city = self.city;

state = self.state;

    return  self;

The above code is NOT how it is supposed to look within the custom initializer. This is what I had and I needed to say self.city = city; a small mistake but a lesson learned.

I have been working out the specs for a big weekend project that incorporates everything from week one and week two. I am really going to focus on the areas I am not comfortable coding and specificly focus on the Model-View-Controller as well as writing clean and easily readable code. Don showed me some cool tricks I will be implementing today. We have four full days to work this weekend and I’m excited to combine everything I have learned. Naomi and I are most likely meeting with our mentor tomorrow as well.

 

-Blake

Leave a comment